Uncategorized

New Tutorial | Drug Store Product Fails | Get Ready with Me!

New Video and reviews below on all of the make up I used. A lot of hits and misses and maybes. Everything I reviewed I used it this video.

Winter.png
Warm + Cool Eye Shadow
Palette.jpg
The colors I used from this palette to help you color match.

Morphe35Cmatch.jpg

Morphe Multi-Color Matte Palette

Morphe Multi-Color Matte Palette: I can not say enough about Morphe Palettes. Yes, for the price they are awesome. And sometimes I find colors more pigmented than higher end products. It is not on par with Makeup Geek… and I love Marlena and her products but Morphe is making some amazing stuff. I usually take on palette with me when I take a trip and it does the job. I have four now. I will continue to purchase them.

 

The products fails are all drug store related. Some things you might want to avoid in the future. I have some great drug store products that are tried and true as well. Of course, this is all my opinion on how it worked on me. And I do try this out several times before making a snap judgement. I hope you find this helpful!

 

PFMascara2.png

Physician’s Formula Mascara

Physican’s Formula Mascara: I thought I had a winner here. Now, if you don’t wear a lot of mascara it could work for you. A couple of coats are fine with no smearing and little clumping. It also lasted all day and was a nice black. Great for bottom lashes. However, I like to build a lot of lash, especially if I am not in the mood to wear false lashes. This is not the mascara for that. Two simple coats. That is it. If you go past that point it will group your lashes together and develop some sort of balling on the tops of your lashes. The rubber applicator seems to work great for those two coats but after that it was pulling product off some lashes while grouping other lashes together. It was weird. It was so bad I had to put false lashes on to hide it. Yesterday I tried the mascara again for a simple look and it worked just fine. I don’t hate but I will not be re-purchasing it and for $12 I can get Sephora’s Outrageous Curl Mascara that I LOVE.

SWLipstick.png

CoverGirl Star Wars Lipstick #30

Loreal Colour Riche Lip Liner in More Chocolate

Loreal Colour Riche Lip Liner: I didn’t say much about it in the video but I had to reapply it several times. It just rubbed right off. I need a liner to stay put and this one was too soft. When I tried to powder it for staying power I had to re-apply again. No bueno. Will not be re-purchasing.

CoverGirl Star Wars Lipstick: Nothing is really wrong with this lipstick. The color is beautiful, the staying power was average and even stained my lips. It is the taste of Cover Girl lipstick I don’t care for. It literally tastes like perfume to me. Yuck. But I like the color so much I will forgive it and I will use it again. I won’t buy another.

 

NYXGEL.png

NYX Control Freak Brow Gel

Nyx Eyebrow sealer: Doesn’t do much in the way of controlling wayward eyebrows or sealing them. I only use it because i haven’t replaced it with something better yet. I will let you know when I find one I love. I think the brush plays a big part in the problem. I won’t buy it again.

 

eyeliner.png

 

Maybelline Eye Liner

Maybelline Eyeliner: This stuff dried out pretty quickly. I haven’t had it that long. The first couple of uses were fine and the staying power good but after a few weeks it is hard to use. I know there is something out there better. Not for re-purchase.

 

 

infall.png

 

Loreal Infallible Pro Matte Foundation 104

Real Techniques Sponge

 

Loreal Infallible Pro-Matte Foundation: Still my favorite. I have tried a few others. Nothing new from the high end brands but I want to. Still, for the price, finish, and staying power, this stuff is amazing. This foundation works best with the sponge. Not so much a brush. Fingertips are okay. I used 105 in this video but I really need 104. I will be re-purchasing.

Real Techniques Sponge: Still love it. Think it works great. I like it as well as the more expensive Beauty Blender. Yes, I will buy it again.

 

 

makeupforever.png

 

Make Up Forever Pro Finish 120

Up & Up Bronzer Brush

Make Up Forever Pro Finish Powder: has the most beautiful, flawless finish. I love it SO much. The color I use is 120. Can’t recommend it enough. A definite for re-purchase.

Up & Up Bronzer Brush: I love this brush from Target for applying this powder plus I like to use it for blending out contouring and blush if it gets too harsh. If I need one I would buy another one.

 

 

MAC.png

 

Mac Prep+Prime Base Visage

 

Mac Prep+Prime Skin Base Visage: I worked fine. It didn’t blow me away and for the price you can find other products that work just as well or better.  Not a must have. I am actually trying out something new right now that is super affordable. This product I would not purchase.

 

 

MACFix.png

 

Mac Fix+

 

Mac Prep+Prime Fix+: I use this before, during and after. I would say this is my favorite of all setting sprays to date and a must have. I bought a back up. Though I am always exploring new things and always looking for better prices.  I have and will re-purchase.

 

 

concealer.png

 

Loreal Visible Lift Blue Concealer in Fair

 

Loreal Visible Lift Blur Concealer in Fair: I like it. It blends out nicely. It covers well though I have to touch it up and it has minimal creasing. Not bad at all. To date I do not have a favorite concealer. I am always on the lookout. I have the triple threat. Dark circles, wrinkles and puffiness. So when I find the holy grail of concealers you will hear me cheering from Florida. I will more than likely try something new instead of re-purchasing this.

 

 

browdip.png

 

Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Dip in Chocolate

http://www.insprbeauty.com/duo-brow-brush/

 

Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Dip in Chocolate: Anastasia is not called the brow queen for nothing. If you want to be sure you are getting a top notch, best you can buy, eye brow product, you can not go wrong with her. There are others that are pretty good too and I will share when I have them here. But I am totally loving this brow dip right now. And I would buy it again.

 

 

ContourPalette.png

 

Wet N Wild Contour Palette in Caramel Toffee

You can find this at your local stores. I coudn’t find a link to the new color except on the Wet N Wild site.

 

Wet N Wild Contour Palette in Caramel Toffee: Well, I am a huge fan of the new Morphe Contour Palette. But at $3.93 this palette delivers and I love a bargain. I wouldn’t use it if it sucked. And it doesn’t! The powder under your eyes can be scary and this one doesn’t leave you looking too creased or wrinkly. With all powders though you really must set them with setting spray of some kind. It helps to blend away the powdery look that can be aging. Yes to a re-purchase.

 

ElfBlushPalette.png

 

Elf Blush Palette in Light

 

ELF Blush Palette in Light: What can I say? This is a favorite palette of mine with beautiful colors that blend well and are nicely pigmented. I love it. Would buy it again.

 

twofaced.png

Two Faced Lip Injection Extreme

Two Faced Lip Injection Extreme: It works okay for what it does. You will get a little plumping for a little while. Not sure I would repurchase this especially at the price. And if you have sensitive skin this is just an irritant. It’s just okay.

 

smashbox.png

Smashbox Photo Finish Under Eye Primer

Smashbox Photo Finish Under Eye Primer: So far I haven’t found another one I like better. It works okay. It isn’t to die for or anything. I think they can do better and I am on the lookout. Regular primer under the eyes can be a bit too much and bulk up under the eyes so until they improve this… go for it. I will say that ELF has an under eye primer as well. It feels a bit more like a glorified moisturizer but we will see. I will report back.

 

Sugarscrub.png

Hanalei Sugar Lip Scrub

Hanalei Sugar Lip Scrub: Bottom line, this is a waste of money. It is a fine product. I received a tester size in my Ipsy bag in January 2016. I like it. I will use it. All you really need is sugar and coconut oil. Mix together in your palm and scrub away. I love diy beauty products and will get into that another day.

 

NYX.png

 

NYX Pore Filler

 

NYX Pore Filler: Yes it does fill your pores but I found it could be heavy. So use it very sparingly. It really isn’t a primer. So if you have pores and your primer isn’t quite doing it for you… this could help. But don’t over do. A little goes a long way. I would not buy this again.

 

Paintpot.png

MAC Paint Pot in Soft Ochre

 

MAC Pro Long Wear Paint Pot in Soft Ochre: I love this. Really love it. It is color correcting and will last and last. I bet it takes me a year to go through this container. I don’t do my makeup every day though. A cheaper alternative is ELF Eye Shadow Primer. It comes in a wand and color corrects. I find it to be nice as well and only $2. I don’t have creasing with it. So MAC Paint Pot is not a holy grail item but it is close… I will re-purchase.

 

luxie.png

 

Luxie 205 Tapered Blending Brush

 

Luxie 205 Tapered Blending Brush: I received this in my Ipsy bag and I love it! I didn’t know what I was missing. I put on 80% of my eye shadow with this. If it dies I will buy another one. I might also try a Morphe blending brush.

 

elfblushvrush.png

 

ELF Blush Brush

 

Elf Blush Brush: This brush is great. Get several. For the price it is worth it. Some many ways to use it. I like it for applying powder under my eyes. I would also use it for blush or for highlighter application.

 

micellar.png

 

Garnier Skin Active Micellar Cleansing Water

up & up™ Exfoliating Cotton Rounds

 

Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water + Cotton Rounds: I love this. Yes, it will remove your make up. It takes about 5 cotton rounds to do it though. I generally like this for cleaning my face before make up in the morning. Or for making sure I removed all of my make up at night. It is refreshing and feels like it is deep cleaning, especially if you get the cotton rounds with the exfoliating side. Love that. Will definitely re-purchase this.

 

neutro.png

Neutrogena Gel Eye Cream

 

Neutrogena Gel Cream Hydro-Boost Eye: I like this product. It sinks in and smooths out fine lines temporarily and doesn’t build up under the eyes. And you can put two to three layers on and it still sinks right in. I would re-purchase this and the Hydro-Boost Face Gel Cream.

 

elf.jpg

ELF Concealer Brush

 

ELF Concealer Brush: Buy more than one. This is the best little brush. I use it for a detail brush. Too small for a concealer brush but I find so many uses for it that I need several. In fact, I need to go get a few more!

 

Lashes.png

Ardell Double Up Wispies

 

Okay – that was a lot and I truly hope it is helpful for you! Prices might vary from site to site. Or even in stores. Some stores, like Ulta, have BOGO. Or Buy one get one 50% off. It is great to shop around for sales.

 

Until next time, big hugs!

Laurie Leigh

Leave a Reply

